OPEN 2017



Sixty-seven teams competed across 4 disciplines over an 8-day period from 18th to 26th February.  The competition was sponsored by Aerobowls.

Play started with the Rinks and Plate competition.  A fine first day greeted the 15 contesting teams with play getting down to the semi-final stages.  Unfortunately the complete wash out on Sunday led to cancellation of all that day’s bowling.  The finals were held over until the last day of the competition with Brian Todd, Malcolm Greenwood, Lennie and Amber Dineen just beating Tom Rogers, Marcus Smith, Phil and June Baldry by 15 shots to 13.

The first round losers of the Rinks went into a Plate competition which was won by a Benalmadena team of Neil Stanton, Clive Gibbs, Alex Bradley and Terry Barratt, who beat Lauro’s Ron Jones, Paul Hughes, Graham Jarratt and Trevor Burgin in a last end shoot out 15:14.

The Triples, Men’s Pairs and Ladies Pairs were played down to semi-final stages over the Monday to Thursday with the hardy Thursday bowlers playing in waterproofs on wet rinks, just like in the UK.  This continuation of play in adverse conditions allowed the Open to finish on the Sunday afternoon as scheduled.

Ladies Pairs winners were Margaret Kain and Mary Detheridge, with runners up Jenny Parkin and Angela Holt.  Men’s Pairs winners were Joe Stamper and John Sullivan from the home club, with runners up Brian Todd and Lennie Dineen from Don Pablo.  The Triples was won by Ron Jones, Graham Jarrett and Paul Hughes from Lauro Golf BC against Benalmadena’s  experienced bowlers Joe Stamper and John Sullivan with Marion Allen as lead.

Thanks to Aerobowls and everyone, both participants, workers and supporters, who helped to make 2017’s Benalmadena Open such a great success.  Well done!

Greg Ellwood, Match Secretary, Benalmadena Bowls Club



Winners – Margaret Kain, Mary Detheridge


Runners up – Jenny Parkin, Angela Holt



Winners – Joe Stamper, John Sullivan

Brian Todd, Lennie Dineen



Winners – Ron Jones Graham Jarrett, Paul Hughes

Runners up – Joe Stamper, John Sullivan, Marion Allen



Winners – Brian Todd, Malcolm Greenwood, Lennie Dineen, Amber Dineen

Runners up – Tom Rogers, Marcus Smith, Phil Baldry, June Baldry



Winners – Neil Stanton, Clive Gibbs, Terry Barrett, Alex Bradley

Runners up – Ron Jones, Paul Hughes, Graham Jarrett, Trevor Burgin